Imbolg Moon

Seldom have I seen a moon so bright. And it dawned on me that were it not for a lunar alignment, visible every 18 and a half years, I would not stand here under a star clad sky, leaning against ancient stones, covered in snow and missed, most tragically, a truly exceptional night.

The snow although proved to be somewhat of a challenge. Despite my armchair plan not to use the road but go straight ahead instead, on what becomes Groarty Road further to the east (unnamed at this stretch), and walk up from Noel’s old farm, I foolishly turned right past St. Angus Church. Half way up the car refused to go any further and the wheels where turning on the ice with no grip left to move. A very anguished half an hour later, after having rolled backwards on the shadowy side of the hill in the dark and a very slippery road, I finally approached Noel’s farm, making my way, slowly but surely, up the hill. The moon lid the entire landscape in front of me with such intensity that not for once did I needed to use the torch to find my way. But my unwise attempt had consequences and I was much delayed by the time I finally made it to monument under Orion’s watchful gaze. The beam was in retreat, again, leaving me only guessing if any progress in it’s length could have been observed.

6.50 pm and Orion above the gate.

6.50 pm and Orion above the gate.

6.53 pm - The firmament star stricken.

6.53 pm – The firmament star stricken.

6.58 pm

6.58 pm

7.01 pm, facing north east.

7.01 pm, facing north east.

7.04 pm

7.04 pm

Facing south with Orion still above.

Facing south with Orion still above.

7.12 pm

7.12 pm

7.28 pm - clouds approaching.

7.28 pm – clouds approaching.

7.31 pm - The beam has left the monument.

7.31 pm – The beam has left the monument.

Despite having missed out on the full Imbolg extend and a rather adventures attempt to approach the monument, this night will stand out in its breathtaking beauty, although I suspect the hill may just hold further surprises.

Leave a Reply

